Group Permissions

The Permissions page of the Add/Edit Group dialog box lets you control the ability of users to issue certain commands or perform specific operations.
Table 1. Group permissions fields

Field

Description

Group of users permitted to manage this group

To let members of an existing group manage the group you are creating or editing, click the Select button under Group of users permitted to manage this group to display the Select Group dialog box. Choose a group that has management privileges, and then click Finish.

Members of a group that has management privileges can add members to and remove members from the group you are creating. For example, you may want to assign the members of Head Cashiers management privileges for Cashiers so they can add members to the Cashiers group.

If you edit the built-in Everyone group, the Select button does not appear. You cannot specify a group to manage the Everyone group — Vocera maintains membership in the Everyone group automatically.

To clear this field, click the C button next to the value.

Group of users permitted to add themselves to this group

To let members of a group add themselves to the group you are creating or editing, click the Select button under Group of users permitted to add themselves to this group to display the Select User or Group dialog box. Choose a group that has this permission, and then click Finish.

For example, you may want to assign members of the Nurses group the permission to add themselves to a group called On Duty.

If you edit the built-in Everyone group, the Select button does not appear. You cannot allow members of another group to add themselves to the Everyone group — Vocera maintains membership in the Everyone group automatically.

To clear this field, click the C button next to the value.

Group of users permitted to manage group's devices

To let members of an existing group manage the Vocera devices owned by this group, click the Select button under Group of users permitted to manage group's devices to display the Select Group dialog box. Choose a group, and then click Finish.

The group you select requires no special privileges. Members of the group can modify information for the devices the managed group owns. Group device managers can edit basic device information, but they cannot view or modify devices owned by groups they do not manage. For more information, see Group Device Managers.

If you edit the built-in Everyone group, the Select button does not appear. You cannot specify a group to manage devices for the Everyone group.

To clear this field, click the C button next to the value.

Member permissions

Specify permissions for the group by selecting an item in the list of Member Permissions and clicking one of the following buttons:

  • Click Grant to grant members in the group the authority to perform the selected action. A green icon appears next to the action.

  • Click Revoke to ensure that members in this group do not have the authority to perform the selected action, even if membership in another group has granted it. A red icon appears next to the action.

  • Click Clear to reset the permission for the selected action. The icon next to the action is removed.

You can use the Ctrl or Shift keys while you click items in the list to select more than one at the same time.