Setting System Preferences

The Preferences page of the System screen establishes default settings for the entire Vocera Communications System.

These settings are site-independent—they are basic preferences that determine how the entire Vocera system operates.

To set the system preferences:

  1. Click System in the navigation bar to display the System screen.
  2. Click the Preferences tab to display the Preferences page.
  3. Complete the settings in the Login/Logout Options section as follows:
    Table 1. Login/logout settings
    Setting Description

    Self Registration

    Specifies whether users can add themselves to the Vocera system through the User Console.

    By default, this setting is not selected.

    Login/Logout Voice Commands

    Specifies whether to enable the voice commands that allow users to log into and log out of badges. By default, these commands are enabled. This setting is recommended when users share badges. A user can issue a voice command to log out, then give the badge to another user, who can in turn issue a voice command to log in.

    If you disable these commands, users cannot share badges. In addition, you must manually set the Badge ID for each user in the Edit User dialog box on the Users page of the Administration Console.

    By default, this setting is selected.

    Enable Auto-Logout Period

    Specifies whether to log out users automatically when they are off the network for a period of time that you determine. For example, if users leave with their badges and forget to log out at the end of their shifts, you can automatically log them out and make their user licenses available for others.

    Auto-logout is useful when your user license specifies a maximum number of simultaneous logins. Once you reach this limit, additional users cannot log in.

    Use this feature in combination with Auto Logout When Badge In Charger in the Defaults section to ensure that users stay logged in only when they intend to be on the network.

    By default, this setting is not selected.

    Auto-logout users after

    Specifies the duration of time, in minutes or hours, that must expire while users are off the network before they are automatically logged out. The value you enter cannot exceed 24 hours. The default is 2 hours.

    Note: This field is available only if Enable Auto-Logout Period is selected.

  4. Complete the settings in the Department Names In Voice Commands section as follows:
    Table 2. Department names in voice commands settings
    Setting Description

    First name, Last name and Department

    Specifies whether users can utter both the first and last name of a user as well as the user's department.

    By default, this setting is not selected.

    First name and Department

    Specifies whether users can utter only the first name of a user as well as the user's department.

    By default, this setting is selected.

    Vocera uses the methods that you select in addition to the first and last name, alternate spoken names, and identifying phrase that you specify in the Users tab of the navigation bar.

    You must select at least one of these settings to allow users to reference department names in voice commands.

  5. Complete the settings in the Favor Frequently Called section as follows:
    Table 3. Favor Frequently Called
    Setting Description

    Enable for Departments

    Enables the use of call history data for calls made from users in one department to users in other groups to enhance speech recognition for the Vocera system. For more information, see How to Enable Favor Frequently Called for Departments.

    By default, this setting is selected.

    Enable for Users

    Enables the use of call history data for calls made to a circle of frequently users in to enhance speech recognition for the Vocera system. For more information, see How to Enable Favor Frequently Called for Users.

    By default, this setting is not selected.

    None

    Disables the Favor Frequently Called feature for users and departments.

  6. Complete the settings in the Miscellaneous section as follows:
    Table 4. Miscellaneous settings
    Setting Description

    Max. Voice Message Length

    Specifies the maximum length of voice messages callers can leave for badge users, in seconds. Enter a value between 60 and 180. By default, the value is 60 seconds.

    Note: Audio files can consume a great deal of disk storage on the Vocera drive. One minute of recorded audio requires approximately one megabyte of space.

  7. Select a VMI preference for whether to prevent VMI messages from breaking through to recipients in Do Not Disturb mode:
    Table 5. VMI settings
    Setting Description

    Block all VMI messages for users in DND

    Blocks all VMI messages—even urgent messages—for users in Do Not Disturb mode.

    Block non-urgent VMI messages for users in DND

    Blocks non-urgent VMI messages for users in Do Not Disturb mode. Urgent VMI messages will break through Do Not Disturb mode. This is the default setting.

    Do not block VMI messages for users in DND

    Allows all VMI messages to break through Do Not Disturb mode. This is the default setting.

  8. Select a Vocera Messaging Platform (VMP) preference:
    Table 6. Vocera Messaging Platform settings
    Setting Description

    Enable VMP

    Specifies whether to enable integration with Vocera Messaging Platform, which provides enterprise messaging and alerting capabilities. When Vocera Messaging Platform is enabled, Vocera users can receive alerts from the Vocera Messaging Platform server on their Vocera devices. When Vocera users say a command to send a page to someone in the Vocera Messaging Platform system, the Vocera Messaging Platform server will route an alert to the appropriate smartphone or pager.

    By default, this setting is not selected.

    Note: Vocera Messaging Platform should only be enabled after Vocera Messaging Platform has been installed and configured for integration with Vocera Voice Server, and Vocera Messaging Platform address book entries have been imported into the Vocera system. Otherwise, clear the Enable VMP box.
  9. Do either of the following:
    • Click Save Changes to save the settings.
    • Click another tab in the System section to enter additional system settings.