Choosing Badge Notifications

Badge Notifications specify the alert tones and reminders that badges play, and determine which automatic badge features are enabled in user profiles.

Specify alert tone settings in the Alert Tones section:
Table 1. Alert tones settings

Setting

Description

On/Off Network Alert

On/Off Network Alert plays a tone when the user moves out of the range of the wireless network.

The audible warning is a convenient reminder if users are supposed to leave badges behind when they go home. However, if users routinely move between buildings, and the network does not cover the outdoor spaces, they might not want to hear an alert tone.

By default, the On/Off Network Alert box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Low Battery Alert

Low Battery Alert sounds an alert when the battery needs to be recharged.

By default, the Low Battery Alert box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Text Message Alert

Text Message Alert plays a tone when the user receives a new text message. The tone sounds only once for each new message. An envelope icon also appears on the badge display when the user has unread text messages.

By default, the Text Message Alert box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Voice Message Alert

Voice Message Alert issues a tone when the user receives a new voice message. The tone plays only once for each new message. A telephone icon also appears on the badge display when the user has unplayed voice messages.

By default, the Voice Message Alert box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Disable Alert Tones in DND Mode

Disable Alert Tones in DND Mode prevents all alert tones when a user puts the badge in Do Not Disturb mode.

By default, the Disable Alert Tones in DND Mode box is cleared, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Choose any reminders you want to enable in the Reminders section:
Table 2. Reminders settings

Setting

Description

Text Message Reminder

Select Text Message Reminder to play a tone on the badge every 15 minutes until a user picks up new text messages.

By default, the Text Message Reminder box is cleared, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Voice Message Reminder

Select Voice Message Reminder to play a tone on the badge every 15 minutes until a user picks up new voice messages.

By default, the Voice Message Reminder box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

DND Reminder

Select DND Reminder to play a tone on the badge every 15 minutes when the badge is in Do Not Disturb mode.

By default, the DND Reminder box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Choose any notifications you want to enable in the Automatic Notifications section. Automatic notifications allow users to bypass certain operations without confirming them.
Table 3. Automatic notifications settings

Setting

Description

Auto Logout When Badge in Charger

Auto Logout When Badge in Charger sends a message to the Vocera Voice Server to log the current user out when a badge is placed in a battery charger, and then turns off the badge's power. This is useful when people share badges, because a user whose badge has a low battery can place the badge in an eight-bay charger, take a fully charged badge out of the charger, and immediately log in with the charged badge.

If Auto Logout When Badge in Charger is disabled, the badge power for an active badge remains on, and the user stays logged in to the server while the battery is charging. This is convenient when a user is working at a desk and wants to use the badge while it is in a single-bay charger.

By default, the Auto Logout When Badge in Charger box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Note: This setting does not affect B3000 badges, which cannot be placed in a charger.

Auto Answer for Incoming Calls

Auto Answer for Incoming Calls connects callers immediately, without asking users whether or not they want to take the call. If all calls need to be connected quickly, you can enable this feature.

By default, the Auto Answer For Incoming Calls box is cleared, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Missed Call Notification

Missed Call Notification causes the Genie to notify the user of missed calls since the last time the user pressed the Call button. The Genie also announces the names of people who left messages.

By default, the Missed Call Notification box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

Disable Voice Message Notifications

Disable Voice Message Notifications causes the Genie to suppress notifications when a user receives a message. However, the user may still hear a voice message alert tone (if the Voice Message Alert option is selected), and a telephone icon appears on the badge display when the user has unplayed voice messages.

By default, the Disable Voice Message Notifications box is selected, and Override User Settings is set to No.

To choose Badge Notifications:

  1. Click Defaults in the navigation bar.
  2. Click the Notifications tab to display the Notifications page.
  3. Specify badge notification settings.
  4. Click Save Changes.