Emptying the Vocera Database

You can use the Update page to empty all of the custom data you have entered into the Vocera database, returning it to its default condition. If you perform this procedure, you will need to restore your data from a backup file or set Vocera up again before users can communicate with their badges.

When you empty the Vocera database, you remove any settings you have made and delete any data you have entered. The database is restored to the condition it was in immediately after your installation. The Vocera server automatically stops and then restarts when you empty the database.

Important: Back up your database before emptying your data from it. You cannot restore data after you have emptied it unless you first create a backup file. See Backing up and Restoring Data.

The Vocera server automatically stops and then restarts when you empty the database.

To empty the Vocera database:

  1. Click Maintenance in the navigation bar.
  2. Click the Update tab to display the Update page.
  3. Click the Empty button.
    A dialog box warns that you cannot undo this procedure.
  4. Click OK.
    The warning dialog box closes, and Vocera displays status messages while it empties the database.
  5. When the database is emptied, you are prompted that the operation completed. Click OK to close the dialog box.