Adding, Editing, and Deleting Device Status Values

The following table lists the default status values for devices:

Table 1. Default devices statuses

Status

Description

Unregistered

Device was auto-loaded by Vocera Voice Server and the status has not been updated by the System Device Manager.

Note: This status value cannot be deleted or modified.

Active

Device has been assigned to a Group Device Manager to deploy.

Inventory

Device is in inventory but has not been deployed.

Lost

Device has been lost.

Pending RMA

System Device Manager has requested an RMA for the device from Vocera.

Received for Repair

System Device Manager has received the Vocera device for diagnosis and repair.

Retired

Device is no longer in use.

RMA'ed

System Device Manager has shipped Vocera the device for repair or replacement.

Sent for Repair

Group Device Manager has followed the process to report device as defective.

Spare

Device has been assigned to a Group Device Manager and is being used as a spare.

You can define any number of other status values based on the device management processes you have implemented. On the Status Options tab, you can add, edit, and delete device status values. You can also change the order of device status values.

Note: Only system administrators and system device managers can add, edit, and delete device status values.

To add a device status value:

  1. Click Devices in the navigation bar to display the Add, Edit, and Delete Devices page.

  2. Click the Status Options tab to display the Add, Edit and Delete Device Status page.

  3. Click Add.

    The Add New Device Status dialog box opens.

  4. In the Device Status field, enter a new device status.

  5. In the Description field, enter a description of the status (up to 100 characters).

  6. Do one of the following:

    • Click Save to save changes, close the Add New Device Status dialog box, and display the Add, Edit and Delete Device Status page.
    • Click Save & Continue to save the device information and leave the Add New Device Status dialog box open to add information for another device.

To edit a device status value:

  1. Click Devices in the navigation bar to display the Add, Edit, and Delete Devices page.

  2. Click the Status Options tab to display the Add, Edit and Delete Device Status page.

  3. Select a value in the Device Status Options list.

  4. Click Edit.

    The Edit Device Status dialog box opens.

  5. In the Device Status field, edit the device status.

  6. In the Description field, edit the description of the status (up to 100 characters).

  7. After editing the device status, click Save to save changes, close the Edit Device Status dialog box, and display the Add, Edit and Delete Device Status page.

To reorder device status values:

  1. Click Devices in the navigation bar to display the Add, Edit, and Delete Devices page.

  2. Click the Status Options tab to display the Add, Edit and Delete Device Status page.

  3. Select a value in the Device Status Options list.

  4. Click Move Up or Move Down to move the status value up or down.

    Note: You cannot change the first status value, which is "Unregistered".

To delete a device status value:

  1. Click Devices in the navigation bar to display the Add, Edit, and Delete Devices page.

  2. Click the Status Options tab to display the Add, Edit and Delete Device Status page.

  3. Select a value in the Device Status Options list.

  4. Click Delete.

  5. Click OK to confirm that you want to delete the status value.

    The Replace Device Status dialog box opens.

  6. In the Device Status list, select a device status to replace the status you deleted.

  7. Click Save to save changes, close the Replace Device Status dialog box, and display the Add, Edit and Delete Device Status page.