About the Global Site

Every installation of the Vocera server has at least one site—the Global site. Vocera automatically creates the Global site. You cannot create or delete the Global site manually; however, you can perform any other maintenance to it. For example, you can transfer users to and from the Global site, delete groups in the Global site, and so forth.

You can use the Global site in either of the following situations:

When you upgrade from a version of Vocera that did not include site support, or when you load data with a .CSV file that does not specify site information, Vocera automatically assigns all your entities to the Global site.

If you are not going to implement multiple sites, leave all your data assigned to the Global site. If you are going to implement multiple sites, you can transfer data from the Global site to one or more individual sites. See Transferring Site Data.

Important: By default, every access point on your network is associated with the Global site. If your deployment implements multiple sites, you must assign a location name to each access point and associate each of these locations with a site. Otherwise, the Vocera server always thinks that the Global site is your current site.