The documentation for
From this online help location, you can download the PDF version of the
This release includes the following important changes.
Default notification behavior has changed in iOS version 12.
If you are using
To revert to the notification behavior used in earlier versions of iOS, do the following:
You must be using a supported device and operating system
to be able to run
The following devices are supported:
Versions 10.3.3 and later of the Apple iOS operating system are supported.
This release includes the following new features and functionality.
Calls can now be transferred to another extension.
If you are in a call, you can now specify a numeric user extension to which your call is to be transferred.
Calls can now be forwarded.
You can now specify the user to which your calls are to be forwarded while you are unavailable.
You can now filter your Home screen.
If you have a large number of messages on your Home screen, you can specify a filter that limits the displayed messages to only those that you want to view.
You can now select multiple conversations.
You can now select multiple conversations to leave or mark as read.
You can now complete or cancel an Alert.
If you are finished with an Alert, or you have administrator status, you can mark it as complete. This archives the Alert. If the Alert is no longer needed, you can now cancel it.
Notifications of people joining or leaving conversations have been streamlined.
In a multi-person conversation, you now only see a notification for the last time each person joined or left the conversation. This reduces clutter on the conversation screen.
Credentials now included with names.
When a user's name is displayed anywhere on the screen, the user's credentials are included if they are provided (for example, Jane Doe MD).
Context now displayed when receiving a call or in a call.
When you are receiving a call or are currently in a call, the context of the call is displayed. This can be Alert information, patient information, or the subject of a multi-person conversation.
Notifications not provided for accepted or old alerts.
If you are sent an alert, and the alert has already been accepted or is older than 120 seconds, you do not receive a notification for the alert.
Templates available for commonly used messages and notifications.
You can now access templates to send your most commonly used messages and notifications. This enables you to respond to emergencies more quickly.
Group and department icons now provided.
Icons are now provided to distinguish groups from departments: the group icon contains the letter G, and the department icon contains the letter D.
Interface with the XMPP server is now more efficient.
If the app is in the background and has received a "data available" push notification, the app no longer continuously tries to connect to the XMPP server if it is not available. Instead, it tries to connect for 20 seconds, and then waits for a network change. This improves battery usage.
You can now specify your availability status message.
You can now supply a customized availability status message that will appear wherever your availability status is displayed. This enables you to let other users on the system know exactly where you are or what you are doing.
Group name now appears in incoming broadcast calls.
If you are receiving a call to a broadcast group that you belong to, the name of the group now appears on the incoming call screen.
Group and department links now indicate whether you are a member.
If a link to a group or a department appears on the screen - for example, as a possible recipient of a call - the link now indicates whether you are a member of that group or department.
You can now view archived conversations.
You can now access archived conversations through either the Archive tab, if available, or the Menu screen.
You can now start a conversation with multiple contacts.
You can now select one or more favorites or one or more members of a group, and start a conversation with these selected contacts.
You can search conversations for contacts or groups.
You can now use conversation search to display all active and archived conversations that contain a particular user name or group name.
You can now specify groups as Favorites.
Your Favorites list can now include groups that you contact frequently.
Patient searches are now grouped.
If you are searching for a patient when starting a new chat or using a template, your search results are now grouped. Departments appear first, then patients, then locations (locations are returned for templates only).
Calls are now preserved when Wi-Fi temporarily disconnected.
If you are in a call and you temporarily lose your connection, your call is preserved until your connection is restored.
Voicemail reminders are now available.
You can use the Genie to create a voicemail reminder for yourself that is to appear on your Home screen at a time that you specify.
Group chats can now be with all group members or with selected members only.
You can now select the members of a group with which you want to start a group chat.
Call timer now displayed.
When you are in a call, a timer keeps track of the elapsed time of the call. This timer may be displayed in the call screen. If you are away from the call, the time is displayed at the top of the screen.
This release includes the following known issues and limitations for versions of
UC-2682 - Occasional delay or missing audio when initiating a call from an iOS device.
When you are making a call or an urgent call from an iOS device, there is occasionally a four or five second delay before audio is heard on the receiver, and occasionally the audio does not appear.
UC-6581 - Call context may not be updated after second call declined.
If you are in a call with a specified context, and you receive and decline a second call, the context of the original call may not reappear until a button is tapped.
UC-8181 - Archived 1-1 conversations not fully loaded when viewed.
If you have archived a 1-1 conversation with a user, you do not have that user marked as a favorite, and you have no other message history with that user, the user's avatar and title do not appear when the conversation is loaded from the archive, and the other user's name does not appear in search results.
UC-8315 - Caller shown as offline on incoming broadcast call.
If someone is attempting to call you from a broadcast, the caller name on the incoming call screen is incorrectly displayed as offline.
UC-8860 - Call screen freezes when cellular call received while making a second call.
If you are in a call, tap Add Call to initiate a second call, and receive a cellular call while initiating this second call, the call screen freezes when you terminate the cellular call.
UC-8902 - Audio occasionally not present when initiating call from Genie.
Occasionally, when you make a call using the Vocera Genie, the audio is not working properly. In these cases, when you tap Add Call or Transfer Call and then cancel, the audio is restored.
PFM-11855 - Mass notifications do not appear in search results.
If you are performing a conversation search, mass notifications that match your search criteria do not appear in the search results.