Adding or Editing a Large Number of Sites

Import site information to a spreadsheet to update a large amount of data.

When you add a site, you specify its name and a basic description only. You need to specify the users, groups, locations, address book entries, and devices that are associated with it separately.

To save time when adding a large number of sites, import them directly from a CSV (comma separated value) file to the Vocera database.

When you add or edit a site, Vocera prompts you for the following basic information.
Table 1. Site fields
Field Maximum Length Description
Name 50 Enter the name of the site in the Name field.
  • The name must start with a letter or digit.
  • It must contain only letters, digits, spaces, apostrophes ('), underscores (_), or dashes (-).
  • No other characters are allowed.
By default, the speech recognition system uses the name you enter to recognize sites. If you change the name of a site that has a Vocera SIP Telephony Gateway associated with it, you must set the value of the VOCERA_SITE environment variable on the telephony server machine to the name of the new site.
Description 100 (Optional) Enter a description of the site in the Description field.
Alternate Spoken Site Name 50 (Optional) Enter the alternate name used to refer to the site in the Alternate Spoken Name field.

Use the Alternate Spoken Site Name field to enable Vocera to recognize variations of the exact site name. For example, if users commonly refer to a site by a nickname or an acronym, enter that variation here.

Cost Center 100

(Optional) Specify a cost center for the site in the Cost Center field.

Spoken Name Count n/a The Spoken Name Count field displays the total number of names that can possibly be used in a voice command for this site. It includes the names of users, groups, sites, locations, address book entries, and all possible alternate names, such as spellings of user names and the singular and plural names of groups.
Note: This field contains a display-only value, and it does not appear in the data-loading template.
Enable Code Lavender n/a Select the Enable Code Lavender checkbox to enable Code Lavender on the site.

This option is disabled by default.

Enable Easter Eggs n/a Unselect the Enable Easter Eggs checkbox to disable the Easter Eggs commands.

This option is enabled by default.

Emergency Broadcast Group

n/a (Optional) Specify the name of the group that receives emergency broadcasts for this site in the Emergency Broadcast Group field.

If you have set an emergency group for each functional group in your organization, you can select your desired group while creating or editing a group or a site. For more information, see Emergency Broadcast Groups.

Time Zone

n/a (Optional) Specify a time zone for the site in the Time Zone field.

By default, the time zone of the site is the time zone of the Vocera Voice Server.

Reminders created through User Console follows the time zone specified for the Site. For example, if you belong to a Site that follows Pacific Standard Time time zone, all reminders that you created from the User Console follows this time zone.

Note: This field does not appear in the data-loading template.

Initiate Emergency Broadcast Silently

n/a Specifies whether to initiate emergency broadcasts at this site silently, without playing a chime first.

This option is disabled by default.

You must have selected a group in the Emergency Broadcast Group field before enabling this option.

Note: This field is not available for Groups on Add/Edit Group dialog box. A silent emergency broadcast is configured at the site level only. It applies to all the emergency groups for the entire site including panic groups set per group.
Send Broadcasting User's Location to Emergency Broadcast Group n/a Specifies whether to send the location of the broadcasting user to the emergency boradcast group.

This option is disabled by default.

You must have selected a group in the Emergency Broadcast Group field before enabling this option.

Send Emergency Broadcast as Urgent Call n/a Specifies whether to send the emergency broadcast as an urgent call to a member of the emergency broadcast group.

This option is disabled by default.

You must have selected a group in the Emergency Broadcast Group field before enabling this option.