Receiving an Alert

When you receive an alert, you receive a notification if the alert has not already been accepted and if it is not older than 120 seconds. The alert is added to the list of conversations in the Home screen.

If the context of the alert is a specific patient, information on this patient is displayed in the alert.

The icon next to the alert indicates its priority:

Icon Priority

Urgent

High

Normal

  1. If the alert has urgent priority, a popup dialog box appears on your screen, displaying the alert information.
    Note: This popup appears only if this is the first time the urgent-priority alert has been sent.

    The options available depend on your system configuration and on how alerts are escalated in your environment. You may see any or all of the following:

    • Accept: accept the alert.
    • Accept & Call: accept the alert and call the location from which the alert originated.
    • Decline: decline the alert.

    If you accept the alert, the Alert Details screen appears, which provides more information about the alert. See About Alert Details for a description of the Alert Details screen.

    Note: If you accept the alert, no one else can accept or decline it. You cannot accept an alert if you have previously declined it.
  2. If the alert has high or normal priority, you receive the alert notification (message, ringtone, or vibration) configured on your system. The new alert is added to the list of conversations in the Home screen.

    Tap the alert to accept or decline it and to display the Alert Details screen, which provides more information about the alert. See About Alert Details for a description of the Alert Details screen.

If you are viewing an alert, and you receive another alert, the following rules apply:

Note: Your administrator may have configured alerts to expire after a specified number of minutes.
Note:

If you are in a call using your Vocera Vina app and you receive an alert, your device does not vibrate to notify you of the alert.