Understanding a System Backup Restore
When necessary, any available backup file may be used to restore the system to a
To use a saved backup file to restore the system, the backup file must be located on
the Vocera Platform. Backup files stored externally must be uploaded to the Vocera system for
You can restore a saved backup file when it displays in the System Backups list in
the Vocera Platform Web Console. Choose a backup file from the list to overwrite the current system with the
previously stored backup file as described in Restoring a System Backup. The restoration process may take some time depending on the size of the
database. Any data changed while the restoration is in progress will not be
transferred to the new database.
Warning: Restoring a backup overwrites the existing information on the Vocera Platform.
This action cannot be undone, and any information lost cannot be recovered.
After a backup is restored, database migrations are performed to ensure that the
database is usable. For example, you may restore an older backup and find that the
current XMPP adapter now requires a new attribute that is not present in the old
Review the following key details for restoring system backup files:
- The restore operation recognizes legacy production database backups (.backup)
and allows them to be restored.
- The restore operation recognizes gzipped backups (.tar.gz) and allows compatible
items to be restored.
- During the restore process any differences in software or bundle versions,
between the current system and the system on which the backup was created, are
automatically displayed. A message displays when there are any differences
between software versions; this message contains a View Differences link to
review the version details.
- The mirth checkbox is disabled if the backup does not contain a mirth
- The audit checkbox is disabled if the audit database is not restorable.
- The automatic backup timers checkbox is disabled if the backup does not contain
- Backups can only be restored when the Vocera Platform is in standalone mode.
- Adapters may only be disabled upon restore if the system database is being