Using a Badge While a Background Update is in Progress

All badge functionality is available while a background update is in progress. If you make or receive a call, the background update is automatically paused so that it does not affect call quality.

While background update is paused, the  icon does not appear on screen. When you finish the call, the background update process resumes and the  icon appears on screen again until the update is finished.